ORGANIC CHEMISTRY II

CHEM 2325

SCHEDULE (subject to change as needed)

Wednesday - November 22
    Lecture - Test over Nucleic Acids
Tuesday - November 21
    Lab - Review for Test over Nucleic Acids
    Quiz - Nucleic Acid - 3
Monday - November 20
    Lecture - Nucleic Acids
    Quiz - Nucleic Acid - 2


Thursday - November 16
    Lecture - Test over Proteins

Wednesday - November 15
    Lecture - Review for Test over Proteins
    Quiz - Nucleic Acid - 1
Tuesday - November 14
    Lab - Secret of Life
    Quiz - Protein - 2
Monday - November 13
    Lecture - Nucleic Acids

Thursday - November 9
    Lecture - Nucleic Acids
Wednesday - November 8
    Lecture - Nucleic Acids
   Quiz - Protein - 1


Tuesday - November 7
    Lecture - Carbohydrate Test
Monday - November 6
    Lecture - Review for Carbohydrate Test

   Quiz - Carbohydrates- 2
Thursday - November 2
    Lecture - Nucleic Acids

Wednesday - November 1
    Lecture - Test over Lipids
Tuesday - October 31

    Lab - Carbohydrate Video
   Quiz - Carbohydrates- 1
Monday - October 30
    Lecture - Review for test over Lipids

Thursday - October 26
    Lecture - Nucleic Acids
Wednesday - October 25
    Lecture - Nucleic Acids
    Quiz - lipids - 2
Tuesday - October 24

    Lab - Lipid Video and Soap
   Quiz - lipids 1
Monday - October 23
    Lecture - Proteins
Thursday - October 19
    Lecture - Proteins


Wednesday - October 18
    Lecture - Test over amines and polymers
Tuesday - October 17

    Lab - Synthesis of Soap
Monday - October 16
    Lecture - Review for test over amines and polymers
    Quiz - polymers after rubber
Thursday - October 12
    Lecture - Carbohydrates
Wednesday - October 11
    Lecture - Carbohydrates
    Quiz - polymers up to rubber
Tuesday - October 10

    Lab - Synthesis of Esters
    Quiz - reactions of amines
Monday - October 9
    Lecture - Carbohydrates
    Quiz - preparation of amines
Thursday - October 5
    Lecture - Lipds

Wednesday - October 4
    Lecture - Test over Carboxylix Acids and Derivatives
Tuesday - October 3

    Lab - Synthesis of Acetanide
Monday - October 2
    Lecture - review for test over carboxylic acid and derivatives

Thursday - September 28
    Lecture - Polymers
    Lab - Synthesis of Acetanide
    Quiz - reactions of carboxylic acid derivatives
Wednesday - September 27
    Lecture -  Polymers
    Quiz -  preparation of functional derivatives
Tuesday - September 16

    Lab - Recrystallization of Acetanide
Monday - September 25
    Lecture -  Properties and Preparation of Amines
    Quiz - nomenclature of carboxylic acid functional derivatives

Thursday - September 21
    Lecture -  Carboxylic acid derivatives - reactions
    Quiz - reactions of carboxylic acids
Wednesday - September 20
    Lecture -  Carboxylic acid derivatives - preparations
    Quiz - preparation of carboxylic acids

Tuesday - September 19
    Lab - Extraction of a unknown
Monday - September 18
    Lecture -  Carboxylic acid derivatives - nomenclature and preparation of anhydrides
    Quiz - nomenclature of carboxylic acids

Thursday - September 14
    Lecture - Carboxylic acid - reactions and ionization

Wednesday - September 13
    Lecture - Test over Aldehydes and Ketones
Tuesday - September 12

    Lab - Extraction of a known
Monday - September 11
    Lecture - Review for test over aldehydes and ketones
    Quiz - reactions of aldehydes and ketones

Thursday - September 7
    Lecture -  Carboxylic acids - preparation
    Quiz - preparation of aldehydes and ketones
Wednesday - September 6
    Lecture - Carboxylic acids - nomenclature, salts, industrial sources
    Quiz - nomenclature of aldehydes and ketones

Tuesday - September 5
    Lab - Synthesis of Aspirin
Monday - September 4
    Lecture - Labour Day Holiday
Thursday - August 31
    Lecture - Aldehydes and ketones - Reactions
Wednesday - August 30
    Lecture - Aldehydes and ketones - Nomenclature and Preparation
Monday - August 28
    Lecture -
Aldehydes - Nomenclature

COURSE DESCRIPTION (catalog description)

CHEM 2325 Organic Chemistry II (4-0-3) This course is a continuation of CHEM 2323. Topics include aromatics, aldehydes, ketones, carboxylic acids, esters, nitrogen compounds, and biomolecules. Reactions and synthesis will be emphasized with a brief introduction to spectral analysis. Prerequisite: CHEM 2323 and CHEM 2123.


REQUIRED TEXT/MANUALS

Organic Chemistry - McMurry (latest edition)

Organic Laboratory Procedures - Wheet (latest edition)


COURSE SYLLABUS

    Course Syllabus (pdf format)


COURSE OUTLINE

Aromaticity - Benzene

Electrophilic Aromatic Substitution

 

Aromatic - Aliphatic Compounds. Arenes and Their Derivatives.

Spectroscopy and Structure

Aldehydes and Ketones

Carboxylic Acids

Functional Derivatives of Carboxylic Acids. Nucleophilic Acyl Substitution

Amines I. Preparation and Physical Properties

Amines II. Reactions

Phenols

Macromolecules. Polymers and Polymerization

Lipids, Fats and Steroids

Carbohydrates

Proteins and Amino Acids

Nucleic Acids